The New Hampshire Association for Justice honors those who have helped to advance our mission of justice for all with annual awards that include: the Civil Justice Award, the Granite State Advocate Award, the Board of Governor’s Award the President’s Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award.
The Civil Justice Award was established in 1996 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to the goals for which the New Hampshire Association for Justice was established, namely, “to promote the administration of justice for the public good,…to uphold the honor and dignity of the profession of law,…to uphold the right of trial by jury,…to preserve and enhance the rights of persons to have access to the Courts and our system of justice,…and to afford everyone a full, fair and timely remedy for wrongs done. “ In short, this award recognizes outstanding commitment to the improvement and preservation of the American civil justice system. The award is not limited to members of the NHAJ or even to attorneys.
Year       Recipient
2016      Chief Justice Tina Nadeau, Judge Sawako Gardner, Judge James Leary (Drug Courts)
2015        Peter S. Smith, Esq.  (posthumously)
2014       Claire Ebel, NH Civil Liberties Union
2013       New Hampshire Legal Assistance
2012       The Concord Monitor
2011       Hon. Kenneth R. McHugh, Associate Justice of New Hampshire Supreme Court
2010       Rep. Peter R. Leischman, New Hampshire General Court
2009       Dean John D. Hutson, Franklin Pierce Law Center
(formerly the Special Recognition Award)
Special recognition is given periodically to attorneys in New Hampshire who, in the course of zealously representing their clients, pursue and help achieve substantive changes in the law of the state which improve our civil justice system, enhance the rights of citizens’ access to the courts, preserve the right of trial by jury or enhance the right of everyone to attain full, fair and timely remedies for civil wrongs.
Year       Recipient
2016       Leslie Johnson & Ellen Purcell
 2015      Nancy Richards-Stower
2014      No Award Given 
2013      Brian C. Shaughnessy, Esq.
2012      Barbara R. Keshen and Jon Meyer for their work on Doyle v. Commissioner
2008      Andru H. Volinsky, Scott F. Johnson, John E. Tobin, Jr., and Tom P. Connair for their work protecting the constitutional
               rights of children in New Hampshire in the Claremont lawsuits
2007      Kevin M. Leach for his work in Desclos v. Southern New Hampshire Medical Center
2005      Edward M. Van Dorn, Jr. and Robin C. Curtiss for their work in Knapp v. Tennesse Pipeline
The Board of Governors Award is presented to a member or associate member of NHAJ who has demonstrated exemplary support of the Association and its goals over an extended period of time through the volunteering of his or her time and expertise and/or financial support.
 Year        Recipient
2016      Christine Craig
2015     Jared O'Connor and Anna G. Zimmerman
2014     William C. Woodbury
2013      Robin C. Curtiss
2012      Ralph F. Holmes
2011      Kevin F. Dugan
2010      Gary B. Richardson
2009      David L. Nixon                                
The President’s Award is given annually to the individual who, in the opinion of the President, has been of outstanding service to the Association and of particular help to the President of the year of the award. The award is not limited to members of the Association but may be presented to anyone who assists the Association in achieving its objectives for that year.
Year       Recipient
2016      Thomas Watson
2015      Amanda Gazlay
2014      Anna G. Zimmerman
2013      Maureen Manning
2012      William Woodbury
2011      Paul W. Chant
2010      Ellen H. Shemitz
2009      Timothy C. Coughlin                                                   
NHAJ Lifetime Achievement Award
The NHAJ Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded to an individual who provides outstanding service and dedication to the NH Legal System over the course of their lifetime.
Year       Recipient
2016     Marilyn McNamara (awarded posthumously)
2015     Paul Cox, Esq.  Burns, Bryant, Cox, Rockefeller & Durkin
2014     Charles "Chuck" Douglas and Hon. Kenneth McHugh
2013     David Nixon




Quick Links

Latest Tweet

Access to the courts is now barred for more than 60 million American workers



Get In Touch

10 Ferry St. #311, Concord, NH 03301

Copyright© New Hampshire Association for Justice | All Rights Reserved